.

Letter to the Editor: Falmouth's First Abandoned Turbine House

One former Falmouth resident explains why she left her home that is less than a half a mile from the NOTUS turbine.

Falmouth has its first abandoned turbine house. Mine. After making every attempt to survive in all too close proximity to the WEBB/NOTUS/TELEDYNE wind power facility our conclusion is clear. We cannot mitigate, compromise, take it for the team or fight the inevitable forever and maintain good health and quality of life. We have been forced take action and it hurts, big time.

We have cashed in all our savings and moved to Cataumet. The new house is one of the cheapest sold this year. We worked all summer like first time fixer upper homeowners just to make it liveable. Its nothing near the dream house we designed, built and adored 10 years ago. However, compared to living with the effects of the turbine it is heaven.

I sleep again most of the time and am able to think clearly and function again. Some of the time my husband sleeps too, but neither of us are the same. It is pretty hard to think about our future now. All our lifes financial worth is tied up in the turbine house. Retirement is only a few years away and we wonʼt have much to live on. That is unless justice still matters, which seems out of reach right now.

There is no experience that compares to first hand experience. You can tell a soldier all about war in a classroom but until they are in the line of fire it is all academic.

Our home was made my war zone. We choose peace. Peace has a high price and is worth it. Those in the line of fire know the truth, the rest is just mental gymnastics and spin. We have some very active and cruel spin doctors on the job in Falmouth.

These health and life changers happen exactly the same way all over the world where these multi megawatt turbines go up too close to homes. Real science is proving the medical issues and is beginning to be recognized. Just like second hand smoke there will be decades of denial and excuses with an eventual decision in favor of the victims. Of this I have no doubt. After all I am one of the first group of victims. Just bother to believe we arenʼt making this up for heavens sake. Why would we?

Itʼs not looking good, but I pray for Falmouth and this turbine dilemma. This is apivotal moral decision. It looks like the town fathers ( and a certain town mother for sure) are determined to keep the war going until they get a win. All wars cost too much and there are no true winners.

Town meeting cannot handle it either. Falmouth needs a town wide vote and a chance to educate each individual voter on the turbine dilemma. This problem is bigger than anyone realizes and I can guarantee it will never go away as long as those things are still running.

The privately owned WEBB/ NOTUS/TELEDYNE turbine, identicle to the other 2, runs unabated, 24/7 full time and without investigation or much mention in the news. It gets just as many complaints. It has driven me out of my home and others out of their jobs in the tech park. Unfortunately, I know why they skate through untouched. Money talks loudest in Falmouth.

The selectmen and board of health members have been instructed not to talk to the turbine victims. So they just dance, give lip service , dodge us and run from the truth.

Not one of them has a clue first hand what we are experiencing or the kind of torture they continue to inflict.

Sue Hobart, Cataumet

Jennie Davis December 13, 2012 at 03:40 PM
Amen, Sue!! Money talks and this is so evident here. Shame on Falmouth for putting money before health - the health of the very people who pay their paychecks.
William B. Fleck December 13, 2012 at 04:34 PM
Sue, my prayers go with you and your husband. There are a lot of people in Falmouth who should be ashamed of what they've done! What goes around, comes around. I know the torments you have lived through, and no words can erase that pain. I do not think the previous message is inapproproate.
michael penta December 13, 2012 at 04:35 PM
When it starts shooting bullets at you then it can be compared to war. Your frustration manifests itself in a ridiculous war analogy. Visit the National Cemetery and see the real cost of war.
William B. Fleck December 13, 2012 at 04:48 PM
It appears my message has been deleted. I wondered how long FalmouthPatch would be fair and balanced. It's no longer worth opening in my incoming mail. Goodbye!
William B. Fleck December 13, 2012 at 04:49 PM
Please unsubscribe me.
Blowin Smoke December 13, 2012 at 07:34 PM
Editor Sara Mannal has a conflict of interest, and conspicuous lack of full disclosure, since her husband is an attorney representing the Hobarts in litigation against a turbine owner.
sue hobart December 13, 2012 at 10:04 PM
Ms. Mannal has not added a single word to my letter or solicited a thing from me. My own town newspaper the Falmouth Enterprise refused to print it so I sent it furthur afield and the patch picked it up. I have never met Ms Mannal. Blowind smoke is a frequent contributor here with regards to turbine issues. Who do You work for sir? Will you disclose your name? I suspect you are one of the spin doctors I mentioned in my letter . Heaven ( literally) knows exactly who YOU are... can anyone else?
Margaret Carroll-Bergman (Editor) December 13, 2012 at 10:40 PM
The Letters to the Editor is a public forum and everyone is encouraged to write letters to the editor and comment as well.
mark cool December 13, 2012 at 10:41 PM
I'm certain this quote fitting for Blowin's comment - "Ninety-nine percent of failures come from people who have the habit of making excuses" ~~ George Washington Carver
mark cool December 13, 2012 at 10:49 PM
I suggest thinking in terms of survivability. Whether it's war or something similarly injurious to the well being of family, friend or yourself, the essential root of the problem needs elimination. Sue eliminated the injurious condition by exiting the area, military service personnel do the same or they pro-actively remove the cause of the injurious condition. Those remaining in the neighborhoods around the turbines, like those experiencing war or experiencing the refugee circumstance of war (who end up in Cemeteries as well), continue to suffer on the battle front ( while the local generals marshall their data points and weigh outcomes of loses versus gains). Generals lose wars, the soldier (or citizen in this case) win them.
sue hobart December 13, 2012 at 11:37 PM
True of the Patch... Not true of the Falmouth Enterprise in this case. Bill Hough would not publish it without my new address... and I will not give that information to him and his spin doctors. Have already suffered from those slings and arrows enough.
Bill Carson December 14, 2012 at 01:23 AM
The fifth column today is the commercial wind turbine industry.This industry is a group of business people who undermine the residential property owners from within. Newspapers have lost focus of keeping the reading public informed about news that affects their daily lives.The papers fail to report on the misinformation campaigns of the wind industry. Proof of the failure of the news media to report the negative side of commercial wind is going on right here at Otis Air Base. In the past three years wind turbine installations have been given giant positive press likes the wind turbines on Cape Cod were going to take the place of Saudi Arabia. The wind industry has an unreported dirty little secret about catastrophic gear box failures costing millions of dollars. The Otis wind turbine installed in 2009 got lots of good press but when it needs a million dollars in repairs the liberal press giving it a pass.
Walker December 14, 2012 at 03:09 PM
Pretty weak if that's the best you have.....Blowin Smoke (and Mirrors) is more like it
Jennie Davis December 14, 2012 at 05:08 PM
War is not always measured in terms of bullets. It can also be measured in terms of assault ...on anyone - this is her life, not yours, and she can measure it in any way that she wishes... It does not need to be validated by you, Mr. Penta.
Gary Boates December 14, 2012 at 10:43 PM
Hello from Canada. We were actually successful at keeping big wind out of our county. How? By providing excellent quality research to our council, including a quote from the Vestas Operating Manual for employees and technicians which reads: Warning Keep Back 600M from an Operating Turbine - Even for Temporary Stays - floor is open.
Bill Carson December 14, 2012 at 11:58 PM
The cities and towns that purchased these turbines were never told the operation and maintenance costs associated with the turbines. Gear box failures range from 600 thousand to one million. Most of the turbines installed after 2008 (Portsmouth High School,Rhode Island ) and (Princeton ,Massachusetts ) have had catastrophic gear box failures. Today the Otis ANG base has a turbine installed in 2009 with a gear box problem of metal in the oil and bad bearings .The base will not comment on the repair cost but does admit a gear box failure. The Town of Falmouth wind turbine was built in 2004 and installed 5 years later .The town has to prepare for gear box replacements
mark cool December 15, 2012 at 01:00 PM
Hi Gary - Could you please send a link to where I could get a copy of that Vestas Operating Manual for employees and techs - 600M equates to apprx 2000' so it can be argued (by our community's Wind Turbine Options Group & since all 3 industrial wind power generators are Vestas) that it would serve as a minumum setback zone. 2000' around our turbines include appx 900- 1500 households, thereby making an eminent domain process too costly when compared to simply removing the turbines. However it's perceived - It becomes a simple cost analysis problem for Falmouth.
Bill Carson December 15, 2012 at 01:16 PM
In the Mechanical Operating and Maintenance Manual for the V90-3.0 MW turbine published by Vestas, Chapter 2, “Stay and Traffic by the Turbine,” reads, “Do not stay within a radius of 400 m (1,300 ft.) from the turbine unless it is necessary.” http://www.wind-watch.org/documents/safety-regulations-for-operators-and-technicians/print/ April 19, 2008 Ordinances, Safety, Technology Safety Regulations for Operators and Technicians Vestas Wind Systems “Do not stay within a radius of 400m (1300ft) from the turbine unless it is necessary. If you have to inspect an operating turbine from the ground, do not stay under the rotor plane but observe the rotor from the front.” “In case of a fire during an uncontrolled operation, do under no circumstances approach the turbine. Evacuate and rope off the turbine in a radius of minimum 400m (1300ft).” View: “Vestas Safety Regulations for Operators and Technicians: V90-3.0MW/V100-2.75MW, page 3″ [1] Download original document: complete “Mechanical Operating and Maintenance Manual: V90–3.0 MW, VCRS 60 Hz” [2]
Bill Carson December 15, 2012 at 01:20 PM
Urls for V-90 -3.0 mw turbine manual http://docs.wind-watch.org/vestas-safety-manual-setbacks.bmp http://www.wind-watch.org/documents/safety-regulations-for-operators-and-technicians/print/
sue hobart December 20, 2012 at 02:21 AM
Last night we attended the Wind Turbine Options Group meeting. Immediately upon our (late) arrival the acting town manager and only selectwoman in the room left. I guess they started to feel dirty in our presence. I am really just so ashamed of their behavior, as well as their spin doctors. If I could have gotten one of them out to my former home today they would have understood personally the torture the thing inflicts. I was there about 10 minutes and it was hammering so hard I nearly spun out. I wish we could have gotten readings then...all anyone would have needed was to be there first hand.
Bill Carson December 20, 2012 at 02:26 AM
There have been 22 wind noise meetings and now another one Jan 8 and 9 . Three news stories today ! They know about the noise ! They don't want to admit a mistake- Take down the turbines Falmouth resident confronts Gov. Patrick on wind turbines http://www.wickedlocal.com/falmouth/news/x1783185409/Falmouth-resident-confronts-Gov-Patrick-on-wind-turbines#ixzz2FWYPHHMO WIND TURBINE DEBATE: New study indicates connection between wind turbines and ill health http://www.wickedlocal.com/plymouth/news/x1631893138/WIND-TURBINE-DEBATE-New-study-indicates-connection-between-wind-turbines-and-ill-health#axzz2FWMbOY6N Kingston residents shocked that sound study for one turbine only Read more: Kingston residents shocked that sound study for one turbine only - Kingston, MA - Wicked Local Kingston http://www.wickedlocal.com/kingston/news/x1233659702/Kingston-residents-shocked-that-sound-study-for-one-turbine-only#ixzz2FYDBNs00
Bill Carson December 20, 2012 at 02:35 AM
The politicians are well aware of the torture the residents around the wind turbines are still going through . At some point the politicians will be held accountable. The Nuremberg Code was enacted because of out of control government . The Falmouth wind turbines have national attention and the groups of organizations fighting for their residential property rights continues to grow ! http://www.windaction.org/news/36806 Falmouth resident confronts Gov. Patrick on wind turbines: "I told [Gov. Patrick] that Falmouth bought two wind turbines from the state and the state had a responsibility for the project, and that the turbines were too big and too close to residences," said Donald, who lives within 1,250 feet of the turbines. "We recommended the state remove the turbines and replace them with solar installation on the town's capped landfill." December 19, 2012 by Scott A. Giordano in The Bulletin
Blowin Smoke December 22, 2012 at 02:05 AM
"Wind turbine syndrome" is a term coined in a self-published book by a US small town doctor who personally opposed a wind farm proposed near her property. Tellingly, the term does not appear once among 22 million papers indexed by PubMed, the US National Library of Medicine's repository of peer reviewed research published in acknowledged journals. http://www.abc.net.au/unleashed/4394656.html
Bill Carson December 22, 2012 at 03:13 AM
The bottom line here is the Town of Falmouth aka all the taxpayers are going to have to purchase the homes of all the residents affected by the infrasound. The Wind Turbine Options Group will meet on January 8 through 9 and give its recommendations on what Falmouth should do to compensate the residential home owners for the loss of parts of their bundle of rights. They should either shut down the turbines or buy the homes- stop the pain and torture ! Here is the Trailer for movie Windfall. This is going on in Falmouth,Fairhaven,Scituate,Kingston and Plymouth. Every place they put a megawatt turbine another group of citizens forms to stop the noise ! Click on the url and see if this is going on in your town ! http://firstrunfeatures.com/trailers_windfall.html
sue hobart December 26, 2012 at 11:29 PM
Blowin Smoke is completely inaccurate in stating both the credentials and circumstances involved in the initial research and indentification of Wind Turbine Syndrome. Princeton and Johns Hopkins are hardly small town credentials... and a cluster of symptoms actually caused Dr. Peirpont to look for a possible physical scenario for these often reported difficulties. Her research suggests entirely logical and very probable explanations to the fact that turbine neighbors report almost identicle symptoms all over the world. She is a brilliant doctor with the guts to tell the truth and actually cares enough to spend her own time and money to get this stuff said and looked into. It has been at huge personal cost and she has been much maligned by industry fact spinners like blowing Smoke. Having met her personally I guarantee she is the sharpest tool in the shed by a long shot. Unfortunately the spin doctors aren't interested in facts... Just spin , smoke and mirrors... or blowin smoke!
Bill Carson December 26, 2012 at 11:46 PM
Before they used the term infrasound in regards to commercial megawatt turbines it was called Waubra Disease.The disease caused ear pressure, headaches, rapid heartbeat, high blood pressure. The Town of Falmouth and Massachusetts and the so called mediation company have to look at a broad range of issues which include sitting issues and noise issues. It's important that infrasound aka Waubra Disease is taken into account. Here's a quote: "There is a mountain of unassailable scientific evidence that infrasound and low-frequency noise from turbines sited near residences cause serious illness. Long-term exposure to this dangerous form of sound energy causes very serious and often irreversible health consequences such as heart damage, cancer and acute neurological deterioration. As much as 70 percent of those exposed for 10 years or more will suffer from at least some serious adverse health effects."

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something